Smart car ruined

geoffcow

My wife and I have been towing our Smart fourtwo for some 18 months to Spain several times and elsewhere. On our return from Spain two weeks ago, the wheels suddenly locked and the engine was competely ruined. We were on a motorway so had to pull into a refuge to see what was wrong. THe wheels had unlocked and so we were able to continue towing and returned to the UK. I was aware that the vehicle had to be in neutral and the 'N' was showing before switching off. Somehow the car got into gear and the engine was stripped. We are in the process of making an insurance claim. The question I pose is this. Is there an inherant fault in Smart cars being towed on an A frame. Because if there is then we will avoid buying a replacement.

Geoffcow

I was told when I bought our toad that you couldn't tow a Smart car on an A-frame so I bought a C1. However, when I posted on here about the warning, several replies said that that had now changed and you could tow one.

Having driven automatics all my working life I did think it was strange that an auto could be towed in N long distances but didn't want to argue based on hearsay.

Thers has been a number of threads on here on this topic-quite recently one caught fire on the A1 on an A-frame.

Sorry to hear about you problems, hope the insurance pay out ok. Be prepared for some 'I told you so' replies on here!

Mike

Sorry geoff, but you will not get much sympathy on this site all you will get is nasty comments as there is a hard core base of people that are dead against A frames and they will say it is your fault.

Also sorry I cannot help you with your problem as I have not heard of this happening on any towcars I was looking in to the possibility of towing my new Toyota Aygo but this gives me the willies just thinking about it.

I hope your insurance will cover for the damage let us know if you have any problems.

Mike.

Mickydripin - 2012-03-07 12:34 PM