BHP 110 or 130 Autocruise Jazz HELP

Bex

Hi all

I'm about to purchase a new Autocruise Jazz and can choose a 110BHP 2.3 engine that is in a showroom or wait and purchase a 130BHP 2.3 engine that would come on order.

Does anyone have any experience as to whether I'll be disappointed if I don't wait to order a 130BHP? How much difference will there be? I'm no techie and don't want to regret decisions so any advice is most welcome.

Thank you!

The 110BHP will pull the Jazz along easily up to the legal limit and beyond. My camper (7 metre Iveco Turbo Daily) will happily tow a 1500KG trailer at 60MPH with just 100BHP. As long as the 110 is a reasonable amount cheaper than the 130 I'd say go for it.

D.

Good point on test drive. We drove an 18month old 100bhp Jazz which seemed great on a flat road and pulled away fine but haven't yet test driven this new one. Does bhp make a difference to acceleration eg at roundabouts as well as ability to pull uphill?

My vote: Just get the cheapest one.........in fact you might be able to get the price of the 110bhp one down even further by saying that, like everyone else, you'de much rather have the upcoming 130bhp version, but you might be prepared to take this old-stock, old model, 110 version off their hands, if the discount was large enough.

If you want fast, why are you looking at sheds on white-van running gear; just buy a Porsche.

Surely, all are actually ever going to do in the thing is chug around gently.

Whichever van base you buy, your fuel economy takes an utter slaughtering if you start charging about at 70 or above, rather than a sedate 60/65.

Our old-dog 1992 2.5TD had only 70KW (95CV) of engine power when new; it'll be less than that now; and it lugs an overweight, A-Class body around. But it'll chug along merrily at 60/65mph forever.