damp meter

silverback

hello oh wise one's

i have one of those cheap damp meters £10 job, i have been using it for a few years now and it shows no damp, but do these work? i like to keep my eye on this sort of problem (damp) so i thought of buying a good one ie..what the pros use, so does anybody know what the pros use? and how much and where to get one?

jonathan

Hi Silverback

You can get many years Dealer Annual Damp Check for the price of a "professional" damp meter.

Our Dealer indicated a cost close to £500, but I don't know if that was sales blurb or factual.

If factual, I can't see how purchasing one can be cost effective.

Test your cheapo dampmeter by damping!!! a cloth and put the meter on it . If it shows zero then there is a good chance it is rubbish.

Try different levels of 'dampness' to calibrate your meter.

Most of the cheap ones I have seen are just relative dampness meters but the instrucions don't say relative to what!!!

IE, until you know what dampness it actually measures then you have no idea what you are measuring.

So you have to measure some things which you know to be dry and some you know to be damp in order to understand the readings on your particular meter.

Any damp meter is better than none.

I have a cheapo one and it works OK. It has red amber and green on the display meter.

I calibrated to some extent by asking my local caravan servicing technician to do some damp readings with his meter and then I did the same with mine.

It works, damp is shown as red straight away, slightly damp i.e. can't feel it with your fingers shows amber and green is dry! So good enough for me, if I ever find an amber spot I will take it in to have a proper meter put on it.

By the way, I know someone who spent ages and lots of sealant trying to cure a "damp" patch, it turned out to be condensation!

H

Hi Silverback,

i got my meter from CPC......www.cpc.farnell.com

Item No...IN04871.....ST-125....Moisture Meter.

£26.34 inc vat