which satellite dish

jwj

Hi all,

I am looking to fit either a Camos crank up or Isat automatic dish on a panel van. This will mainly used be in Ireland and Scotland. I would be pleased if anyone could let me have their experience of either of these systems.

The reason i ask is that i have been told that an Isat automatic would be easier to fit to my van. However i was also told that the Isat was at the margin of reception in the UK and Ireland and the better option was the camos crank up.

The question then is, how much depends on the dish and how much depends on the footprint of the astra2 signal?

I hope this is not a daft question, but i am totally new to this.

Thanks Jim.

We have a 360 mm dia dish bought at Maplins for £60 it gets Astra 2 down to the France Spain border, in good weather. It only takes 10 mins to stick it on the roof and find the satelite with a sat finder and 2 mins to pack away before moving off. In high wind I mount it on a stake in the ground.

We are presently in the French Alps and there is no problems with it.

I would not like to think I had paid over £1000 for a system that did not perform in Scotland or Ireland.

jwj - 2012-09-07 5:06 PM

The reason i ask is that i have been told that an Isat automatic would be easier to fit to my van. However i was also told that the Isat was at the margin of reception in the UK and Ireland and the better option was the camos crank up.

The question then is, how much depends on the dish and how much depends on the footprint of the astra2 signal?

I hope this is not a daft question, but i am totally new to this.

Thanks Jim.

The footprint of astra is the same for any receiving sytem, the gain of the receiving antenna (dish or whatever)

is the thing that makes the difference. The higher the gain (in Db usually) the better the sytem will perform.

There are other factors like a low noise LNB and low loss cable etc. but basically, the more Dbs of gain the better the received signal.

H