Swift Kontiki 649 / Mizar GTL Living

arjxh56

Hi,

I had the MIzar GTL Living (2008) for a period of time and it was great. Dont ask why, but i ended up selling it and now want another one!

Anyway.. I have struggled to find one for sale, let alone in the spec i would like, despite trying to look everywhere possible, even abroad, i am now considering the Kontiki 649 as it had a similar layout in the dining area. I would like a god dining layout for kids to eat, but also when kids go to bed this becomes our lounge for the evenings.

I have no knowledge of the Kontiki and have tried registering on the swift forums but admin hasnt come back and approved the request yet.

So what do you think of the Konitki?

Has anyone got one and can give me any tips?

Things that concern me are...

* Damp Ingress / build quality - I am paranoid about damp due to being bitten in the past. Its a nightmare to deal with and so would like to avoid this at all costs!

* Its about 5ft longer than the Mizar and so wondering if people find this a nightmare for villages, parking, etc.. The Mizar was fine most of the time.

* The prices are WAY higher than i thought they would be second hand. Is this the norm or do they depreciate fast? I realise the 649 only came into production late 2009?

* Single beds/lounge - The mizar had bunks for the kids (age 2 and 3) and this was great. Has anyone used the rear lounge as kids beds? Does it work well?

The other thing i was also going to add... i notice that Kontiki have now changed the scheme on the vans (from Silver back end to white with stickers). Do you think this will impact the value of the silver ones drastically?

Other than Euro 5 Fiat and the colour scheme, do you know if the build has changed in any way???

Many thanks

arjxh56 - 2012-10-08 2:10 PM

Things that concern me are...