Advice: German markets and 1st trip abroad

sean.clarke

Hi,

It is my first year of owning a MH and I am tempted to venture to the continent for a weekend break and visit an authentic German Xmas market. I have never driven on the "wrong side", although I have ventured to many places in Europe (just never driven).

Can you guys offer any advice or any markets that are both worth the trip (for a newbie) and not to far from the tunnel - I could of course visit a French market, but I'd like to venture to Germany (unless you guys think it is a bit bonkers for a 1st trip).

I am young(ish) and don't mind a long drive so not too bothered getting there, but of course driving on the right does cause me a little anxiety, but I will have to overcome that at some point....

Guest JudgeMental

weekend or long weekend?

Brugge very nice, and only 1.5 hrs from tunnel. Christmas market not up to German standards apparently (have not been) But its a wonderful historic town for a weekend visit..bring the bikes! :-D

Hi, if your only going for a weekend, you will be driving most of the time, Judges suggestion of Brugge is good, and you can park in the bus station. I find that if you keep checking your mirrors, there is not a problem, make your intentions very clear when changing lanes and you will be fine. Watch at roundabouts in towns as other drivers will come up your left hand side and cut the roundabout. We use the aire at Metz on way to Stuttgart, and Metz is a really nice town. Enjoy your trip.

Cheers

sean.clarke - 2012-11-17 11:19 AM

Hi,

It is my first year of owning a MH and I am tempted to venture to the continent for a weekend break and visit an authentic German Xmas market. I have never driven on the "wrong side", although I have ventured to many places in Europe (just never driven).