New site for locations

Guest searchforsites

Guest searchforsites

HI all

This is my first post here but have been a camper/motorhome owner for many years.

After being frustrated with many other websites, I have started to develop my own website to show all the motorhome parking (inc aires, stellplatze etc) plus campsites, France passion sites I have in my database.

The site is

http://www.searchforsites.co.uk

The site is still very much in development mode and only shows a limited set of sites that I have.

The about us, forum and contact links are not set up yet.

The prime objective is to develop an offline version with mapping, but in the interim the site is very lite in terms of code so should still be mobile friendly.

To use the site simply select the category or region from the drop down list then click on the map to show the icons.

I am new to web development so there is a lot to do but it appears to be working on devices I have tested.

Locations have either been collected from our tours, freely available downloads or data sets I have purchased.

I am looking for advice/opinions on how best to show the data.

By type i.e Show all France passion sites

By region i.e Show all sites for Dordogne

By Country i.e Show all sites for England

By town i.e Enter town name and show within a radius of x km

By map i.e drag marker on map and show all with radius of map center

The restrictions are on the number of markers to show vs download times i.e The England map has 3500 markes and will take longer to draw than the 200 FP sites

Would appreciate any feedback (Good or bad :-D )

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Guest JudgeMental
would not load for me hope that helps... Sorry! my fault did not select area from top box.. *-) any chance of wild camping data base as well please...

Guest searchforsites
JudgeMental - 2012-11-22 6:05 PM