Deadlocks

Geoff Bell

hi geoff i had mine supplied & fitted by essanjay motorhomes, poole. both cab doors and the 'caravan' door. they also fitted a removable steering wheel. i am a registered tech thickie so am no help about fitting them. recommended - yes because they can't break a cab window and open the door. i'm well aware that these locks don't make the van thief proof but they do stop the lower level of thief. mike

Lets face it smifee nothing would make it thiefproof but its all about making life as difficult as possible. I think they are a good idea. Have you any info such as a make so I can do a bit of research. Had a poor response from the forum so I need a lead. I will then post some details for all too see.

hi geoff they are heo safe on the cab doors & abus on the van door. have a look on essanjay.co.uk i put the 'thiefproof' bit in because usually when i post about security some smartass tells me that 'if they want it they'll have it'. mike

Hello Geoff, There are Deadlocks which operate on the door locks to disable the interior door handles and Deadbolts which operate from either the door into the frame or vice versa. Deadbolts give better security and if fitted correctly are shielded against exterior access. Dave Newell fitted my Deadbolts which can be activated from within the van and bolt all doors in a single action except one which can be operated separately (for safety when in the van). These also act as a good anti-hijacking system. I am sure that Dave can supply all the details to you. Tel 07891 441883 E-mail dave@davenewell.co.uk. I have a sticker on each door saying "This vehicle is protected by Alarm Systems and Deadbolts on all doors". It is not wise to specify the type of alarm(s) fitted. Why make thieves jobs easier by telling them which type of alarm they have to overcome. Regards, Mike.