Fixings advice nedded

Pete-B

Hi,

I've got a 2012 Bessie E460 and plan to install a Fiamma sliding lock as a bit of extra security to the habitation door. I'm adviced not to compress the wall in any way and to avoid this use 10mm copper inserts in the holes cut 1mm over length as a prevention and put silicone around holes and under bolt heads to stop damp penetration, which all makes sense.

The only problem is, the bolts have a thread length of 35mm so if I pass them through the internal backing plate and through the external rubber gasket this leaves 32/32mm and Swift reckon the wall thickness is 32mm. So certainly not enough room for, perhaps, a spring washer or similar.

I guess it's no problem getting longer bolts but to buy an item which is specifically made for the job then having to bodge it up all seems odd.

I've had no experience doing this so am I missing the obvious.

Guest JudgeMental
Do some research..from memory they are prone to failure and unreliable. I'm talking about the external one to be honest. A link would help. Sorry but I think a waste of time, as if they want to get in, camper doors pretty flimsy anyway.

Like Eddie says if someone wants to break in nothing will stop them, the petty thief looks for easy unlocked doors. The answer is never let anything tempting be seen.

The fear of a break in is fear itself, and good for sales of anti theft equipment.

Buy a very heavy dog chain and collar and leave it exposed on a seat along with a tatty dog bowl with half eaten food, far better than all your locks!

I believe Milenco-marketed locks are Thule-made and there are useful iinstallation video-clips here:

http://www.milenco.com/products/security-door-locks/door-locks/

If it transpires that that the standard bolts are too short to obtain a secure fixing, you should get longer ones. Don't try to get away with, say, omitting the interior backing plate.

Thule's own website