Winter - 2007 Ace Airstream

Secondlife

Being a total newbie to motorhomes we were led to believe that we needed to cover the vents, drain the hot water tank and empty our 'home during the winter. Well we managed 2 out of 3, discovered we had no vent covers. So called Swift they said to speak to a dealer. Spoke to our dealer who said look on Ebay (you can tell I am getting nowhere fast). Rang another dealer who has been extremely helpful but has come back to say that there is not a winter pack for the Ace Airstream but if we wanted vent covers then to use those supplied for the Sundance (advice from Swift). So I suppose my question is do I need these vent covers? The 'home is stored away in a large barn for the winter.

Guest 1footinthegrave

No. ;-)

but you'll almost certainly find your vents are industry standard ones, for which covers should easliy be available, they are advised when using the fridge in the colder times of the year, but l personally have never used them, nor it seems do many others, and if in storage even less reason ;-)

Guest 1footinthegrave

No. ;-)

but you'll almost certainly find your vents are industry standard ones, for which covers should easliy be available, they are advised when using the fridge in the colder times of the year, but l personally have never used them, nor it seems do many others, and if in storage even less reason to obtain them ;-)

Agreed. You need them to help the fridge work efficiently when the outside temp is low, but, as Mike says, if you aren't using the fridge then why bother.

However, if being stored in a barn, fridge covers might keep little creatures out.....

Any caravan dealer/shop would have them, or ebay, you just need to know the model of fridge or fridge/freezer as there are many variations.