Best route to Norway

Stewpot

We are thinking about a visit to Norway in spring. We live in Yorkshire. Which route have people used from up here? Looks like the options are Hull to Rotterdam then drive to Hirtshal for another ferry, or use Harwich to Esbjerg and then onto Hirtshal to cross into Norway. It does go against the grain to go south and east to Harwich, but I have no experience of routes through Holland and Germany to reach Denmark. It's a great shame there is no direct route from Uk to Norway

Any tips from experienced travellers much appreciated. We have a 6m PVC . We hope to get as far north as Trondheim . We have up to 4 weeks time. Thanks

Hi Stewpot and welcome to the forum.

Be aware that a lot of the roads in the fjord region can be blocked by snow until early or mid June.

Some years since we were over there but we also found it a good idea to have some cash handy for the many ferries in the fjord region - at that time someone just walked along the queue selling tickets - no credit cards were accepted. Vans up to six metres cost a lot less on the ferries than those over six metres.

Fabulous country to tour

Have a good trip.

Hi Stewpot and welcome to the madhouse where everyone has opposing views on just about everything!

First the good news - at under 6 mtrs in length you will save a lot on both getting to and the internal ferries in Norway of which there are many!

Now the bad news - in spring some roads and passes may not yet be open and snow free as it can take until late May or even June for that to happen and that could curtail your passage Northwards.

If that happens you might be able to get across to Baltic Sweden although Southern Norway is very good and spectacular in places.

There is no best route - whatever works for you is best - and the basic choice for getting there is between very long drives or very expensive ferries!