Taking a tag axle to europe.

lynandie

Hi everybody.

I am new to motorhoming and I have only taken our motorhome around the UK so far.

We are planning are first trip to Europe this year so if possible could anyone give me any pro's or con's

on taking a tag axle to Europe.

I presume that I would have to pay more for toll roads, would I have to get into the freight lane when going through tolls??

I take it that most campsites do except this kind of motor home in Europe!!

We own a Burstner 875g, 9m long, 5000kg

Many thanks for any advice on this subject.

Hi

Our van is not a tag axle and is a mere 7.5 metres so I can't advise from personal experience. 'Eric and Shazza' are a couple of fulltimers currently in Spain in their 8.7 metre Auto Tral Commanche. From reading the excellent blog written by Eric it seems they have very few problems driving a large vehicle.

http://ericandshazza.wordpress.com/

You mention motorway tolls and campsites. Both of these can be avoided if you like! Tell your satnav to avoid toll roads and use motorhome aires for overnight. The 'All the Aires' guides by Vicarious Books are very good.

http://www.vicariousbooks.com/

Have a great trip, they don't call France 'motorhome heaven' for nothing.

Paul

Avoid Autoroute Peage (Toll roads) with your Tag axle van or any van with a maximum gross weight (PTAC in France) over 3500Kg Normal Camping cars are rated at class 2 whereas vehicles with 3 axles and or weighing more than 3.5T are Class 4 which more than doubles the price! http://www.aprr.fr/autoroute/tarifs_aprr.pdf?FileID=pdf%2ftarifs_aprr.pdf

All vehicles of more than 3.5T have speed restrictions i.e. are treated as HGVs and many minor roads and town areas forbid anything over 3.5T. although the CC claim the speed stickers are not required for visitors.

http://www.apivir.org/documentation/docloisetreglements/limitesvitesse.htm