"TRUCKING" Satnav

crob

I've used a conventional car satnav for the last 7 years throughout Western Europe with very few problems. I have a 25' motorhome, 5 tonnes approx.

I am wanting to update my maps, and know that there are "trucking" maps available, obviously designed for the 40'/40 tonne HGV. Has anyone had any experience of using this type of map in their satnav device, please? Are they "overkill" for a motorhome? I know that this is a matter of personal preference, but I would appreciate any views on this subject.

Thanks to all who respond.

I have no experience of trucking type sat navs, but have been using a Garmin unit for about five years, so am familiar with the "usual" sat nav sense of humour! :-) However, I have investigated the basis on which the truck variety work.

What I found is that that electronic mapping in sat navs tends to come from one of only two providers. Either TeleAtlas, owned by TomTom, or NavTeq, owned by Nokia. At present neither prodice maps that contain information on road widths, so the trucking variety of sat navs have to use alternative means to guide large vehicles to avoid narrow roads. Most seem to rely on some form of prioritisation of major road routes (the equivalent of UK "A" roads or "E" routes) until the last possible moment before arrival. This can result in less direct routes being taken. As you will by now have realised there are miles of UK equivalent "B" roads that are perfectly adequate for larger vehicles, often more direct between smaller places, that would be likely to be rejected by the device.