windsor castle parking .

davey

hi could anyone please tell me the best place to park a motorhome to visit windsor castle.

Ihave tried legoland park and ride but on the website it says a hieght limit of 9.1inches my motor is 10.3high

The only other possible place is the coach park if they would allow it .

Iam also looking for a site close to that erea for 2 days in may

Being fairley new to motorhoming 2 years i thaught i would pick the brains of you more experianced campers .

Hope this post is ok it is my first attempt .

davey.

Davey Hi

Parking:

Try phoning or e-mailing Windsor & Maidenhead council. 01628 683 800

or online

http://www.rbwm.gov.uk/web/parking_index.htm

Camping:

Could try this lot, just 6 miles from the castle - I know the area, but have no idea what the camping is like.

http://www.amerdencaravanpark.webs.com/

Just be aware that this area has been badly flooded in recent weeks so suggest you phone them to see if you need a boat to get to them!

Good luck

Hi Davey and welcome

If you are in the Caravan Club,there is a bus from the Wyatts Covert site to Windsor.

It only runs on a Saturday, but the bus stop is right outside the site office.Drops you outside the Castle.

When we went couple of months ago, I had a walk down by the river.In the railway station carpark just below the castle I saw a biggish C/B motorhome and a number of panelvans(not motorhomes) .It looked a bit tight but there was room.

All the best

HWO

Park in the coach park, but park by the attendants hut. I spoke to the attendant and they directed me to buy the ticket from the car machine so as not to pay the coach prices. The coaches tend to park up the other end so you keep away from them as well.

Hello Davey.