Which (Small) Inverter?

GrahamPye

I know that there have been several discussions about inverters before, and long arguments about the relative merits of inverters followed by laptop (etc.) chargers versus specific 12V chargers for each device. Although I agree that specific chargers will be more efficient (I used to be an electronic engineer, so I can do the sums :-)) I'm convinced by the alternative argument that I already have the mains chargers for all my devices, and I don't want to buy new ones...

So, which leads me to the two vital questions:

1) So are quasi-sine wave inverters OK for powering laptops, toothbrush chargers, and other small devices or not? Sterling Power's website says they are, and they sell both sorts of inverters so they ought to be unbiased!

2) Which model to buy? I'm thinking that I probably only need about 150W continuous, and although that size will probably be OK in a cigarette lighter socket. I'll probably wire it in (via a switch) permanently.

Thanks,

Graham

Hi Graham. I've just been looking at these myself. I think, purely for charging stuff, the modified sine wave ones are OK.

I am probably going to go for a Ring Powersource 300w one. Halfords sell them, but Screwfix are cheaper at £40 - 150 w is £30.

Just about to look on Ebay and Amazon in case they are cheaper.

PS I have no idea why I want the 300w one, as you say 150 w is probably fine, but for an extra £10, why not? :-D

candapack - 2014-03-04 3:53 PM

Hi Graham. I've just been looking at these myself. I think, purely for charging stuff, the modified sine wave ones are OK.

I am probably going to go for a Ring Powersource 300w one. Halfords sell them, but Screwfix are cheaper at £40 - 150 w is £30.

Just about to look on Ebay and Amazon in case they are cheaper.

PS I have no idea why I want the 300w one, as you say 150 w is probably fine, but for an extra £10, why not? :-D

In fact have just bought the 300w one for £25 (incl delivery!) on Ebay.