Newbie with a Superbrig

Spuffington

Hi there,

Newbie here and very excited as I'm picking up my first ever motorhome on Monday - a 2002 Mercedes 316 Rimor Superbrig 728. A reasonable size truck given there's only three of us; myself, wife and 16month old daughter but wanted to have enough space for us to spread out and bunk beds for daughters to be in un disturbed when we're eating / drinking / chatting in the evening.

Van I've found has been really well loved and cherished by its current owners and been around Europe and the UK throughout all weathers. I'm particularly keen on it since it's used every fortnight and has been on lots off long trips - I'm happier with its 55k miles over 12yrs than similar aged vans which have done half that!

So, looking forward to lots of adventures - first trip is local, perhaps up to Thetford (we live in Essex) and then NW Scotland and the Lakes in June. Hopefully be taking a 3month sabbatical from work before my daughter starts school so that we can tour Europe. Can't wait!

So forgive me for any ridiculous questions but could be on here frequently!

Cheers,

Spuff! :-D

55k miles over 12yrs

Cosseted.

Wish you well in your adventures, but please bear in mind that although lots of good advice appears here, there are also some right grumpy old gits too, hissy fits are frequent.

Lots of common problems can be solved once you figure out the labyrinthine search function.

Hi,

Thanks for the heads up. I'm a reasonably frequent forum user (BMW man when not in the motorhome) so try and scour for frequently asked questions before posting.

Yep, 55k is still on the low side but I think that was down to the original owner rather than the latest fella - he's covered a good bit of mileage in the last 7yrs. Pleased that it's been used all year round rather than having been laid up for 6 months of the year, which seems all too common from what I've seen. Certainly no intention of doing that myself - we've bought it to use it! :)