Peugeot Boxer Vehicle Battery

christy900

Have taken delivery of our new Elddis with a Peugeot Boxer cab. Speaking to dealer today and we told him we have to keep our home in storage. He advised that we would need to run it at least every fortnight due to battery losing charge. I have little tech knowledge but from what I understand it is something to do with the software self checking every day which runs the battery down Sounds odd but can anyone please explain if this true and what really is the problem. It is a big concern as if true it means I will need to use a solar panel to keep the battery charged. Our storage is 25 miles from home and there is no means of charging there we will be using the home regularly in Summer but could be 3-4 week gap in the Winter.

christy900 - 2014-07-04 9:06 PM

Have taken delivery of our new Elddis with a Peugeot Boxer cab. Speaking to dealer today and we told him we have to keep our home in storage. He advised that we would need to run it at least every fortnight due to battery losing charge. I have little tech knowledge but from what I understand it is something to do with the software self checking every day which runs the battery down Sounds odd but can anyone please explain if this true and what really is the problem. It is a big concern as if true it means I will need to use a solar panel to keep the battery charged. Our storage is 25 miles from home and there is no means of charging there we will be using the home regularly in Summer but could be 3-4 week gap in the Winter.

Keeping the batteries topped up is the best way to get the most out of them, solar panel and a battery master would be a good idea, then one two or four weeks you will find both batteries will be charged, unless you storage is inside?

If you are going to fit a solar-panel system, it would probably make good sense to choose one that can charge the leisure-battery as well as the vehicle-battery, For example