Another Motorhome Robbery

Gregsky

Hello

This is my first post and im very new to motorhomes .

Just want to share my expierience with You Guys. We went on our first trip in motorhome in July 19th this year. Our destination Was South West France. Stopped on a1 about 100 miles towards North from Paris.

Our only mistake was we chose one of toll motorways aires to sleep. I got up 2.30 in the morning couse i felt small movment of the motorhome ( maybe created by passing lorries- i thought) Next thing i noticed was ladder leading to our bed been moved by someone in order to get to the living space (me wife and our 2 years doughter slept over the cab) at that moment i realized we been in the middle of robbery i jumped down of the bed got out quickly through the side door ... and saw no one there... We lost my wallet with driving licence bank cards , 600 euros in cash , and the bag with all motorhome documents including insurance etc. If i did not awake during this ,probably we would end up with nothing... There were Lorries at that car park , and cars coming in and out all that time. after i checked we are all fine , started engine and run away from this place couse was not sure if thats end of story. That was our first night in motorhome , rest of the nights didnt sleep well as i thought it might happen again ( we only slept on campings afterwards) . We were in 2008 carioca 656 - they got in without damaging locks ( perhaps they have kind of universal key) . They did it very quiet , if i didnt wake up in the middle of that robbery then next morning probably i would say they used gas!!! But im sure the gas is a myth , they very quick and quiet without gas , you are tired and kind of familiar with parking traffic noises.

Next time if we go i will get chain or belt just to secure cab doors , some alarm and definitely will stay at campings. That was the most expensive stopover.

p.s. Any way have to say We had the best holidays ever!!!

Guest pelmetman