Driving motorhomes at 70

methanol1

Driving motorhomes at 70  

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

I have been driving for 45 years,and in 3 years time,I will be 70.I know my licence expires then,but I am unsure what motorhomes I can drive on my new licence.Are there length/weight restrictions,and how often will I need to renew my licence?I have tried to get this info on official sites,but I am still confused!

It's pretty straightforward and there are a number of threads on this forum about it.

You need to renew your driving licence anyway at 70. Apply 90 days before your birthday.

If you want to drive anything over 3.5T you need to also apply to retain your present licence categories by presenting a medical form with your application.

Then every three years after that.

To retain my narrow boat passenger licence I have to do this very year!

If you don't need to renew your C1 entitlement (for MHs over 3,500 kg) then you can do it on line here:

https://www.gov.uk/renew-driving-licence-at-70

If you want to keep your C1 entitlement you need to have a medical examnation (recorded on form D4) and fill in a driving licence application form, either on the Form D47 which DVLA will send you 56 days before your birthday or a Form D2 which you can request in advance, then post them to DVLA.

You cannot apply more than 90 days before your birthday, although if you have special reason to do so (such as being abroad) then write a covering letter with your forms explaining why you are applying ealry.

The medical form remains valid for 4 months from the date of the doctor's signature.

StuartO - 2014-08-26 6:47 PM...................If you want to keep your C1 entitlement you need to have a medical examnation (recorded on form D4) ...................

Plus an eye test. Neither is available under the NHS, so expect to be charged for both.