Omnistep doesn't retract

Mackyjane

I have a bessacarr E710 (2005), the electric omnistep used to beep and automatically retract when the engine was started, but has recently stopped doing this. Also the Sargent control panel no longer automatically switches off when the engine is started. Dies anyone know what may have caused this?ncould the two be connected?

Look in the engine bay for the charge relays (2 relays side by side) and a fuse block beside. They may be under a black plastic cover in the middle of the bay. There should be a fuse block with three fuses and you will find one is blown. It may be a four way fuse block with one way not used. Replace blown fuse with one the same size.

Apparently theres a switch/contact thingy (sorry but I'm not a techie) beneath the step which gets caked up with muck and stops working.  This happened to ours.  OH got underneath and found it and cleaned it out and it worked. 

Perhaps its this which could have caused the fuse to blow?

The step retraction relay (and buzzer) should be fed by the same relay and fuse as the fridge (when the engine is running).

AFAIK, the same circuit is also used by the panel to sense the engine running.

It would be useful to know if the fridge is cooling on 12v with the engine running; if so it is unlikely to be a problem with the initial relays/fuses in this circuit.

As mentioned above, they (the relays and fuses) are under a (Fiat) black plastic cover to the centre rear of the engine bay.

Conventionally, the fuse will be a 15 amp one next to the unused space in a four-way holder. The relay may be either of the two - the other being responsible for split/charge of the leisure battery.

If you have checked these fuses, then it may be worth swapping the two relays over to see if only one is functional.

If the relays and fuse(s) check out OK, then the next thing to check is the D+ (alternator) signal to the relays which should switch them when the engine is running.