Hymer Exsis I 562 questions (newbie)

Barryrj

Hi everyone, I am new to motorhomes and have just bought a 2008 Hymer Exsis I 562. Could I ask those with this motorhome how the ladder fits to the drop down bed? I have paperwork that states the bed must not be used without the ladder in position. The diagrams appear to show a ladder that hooks from behind the handle on the front of the bed and also supports the bed. However the ladder that I have can only be hooked on the front of the handle and does not even reach the floor, let alone support the bed. Without reaching the floor it is not safe to climb. I suspect the wrong ladder came with the vehicle but I cannot understand why this would be! The bed cannot go any lower. The ladder I have is wooden with 3 rungs and is 105 cm long (just over 41 inches). It has simple hooks formed in the wood. Any advise would be appreciated. Many thanks, Barry.

I don't know the Exsis that well but I assume the front seats back squab fold down. My Hymer drop down bed is just under 3' from the floor with the driver and passenger seats folded down so your ladder will fit mine.

Have you a manual and if so, have you checked you are following the correct procedures?

Sorry to be so obvious but better to start there. More expert people will be along soon!

Thanks for your response. Good questions. Yes the seat backs are lowered and the bed is clear of them. I have double checked this morning and the bed is down as far as it can go. There are rubber stops built into the mechanism which stops it lowering any further. This bottom edge of the bed is indeed 3 ft from the floor, but the handle, where the ladder supposed to hook on, is 42inches from the floor and the ladder is only just over 41inches in total length. The bed is just a couple of inches above the dash so I believe it is in the right position.