Auto Trail

Pete-B

Hi, weve been looking at the new Autotrail Imala 615 today at the Malvern show. I've got no experience of Autotrail at all but this looks to be quite good. Just wondered what sort of feedback this company gets and what other people think of this model.

Thanks for any comments.

Auto Trail used to be one of the better makes both in terms of build quality and after sales support and when we had out first 2006 used one in 2008 that was certainly true.

However by the time we had our second 2010 used in 2012 I was not so impressed with the build quality although I had no need of service from the factory so cannot comment.

Recent posts on here seem to suggest that there are some very unhappy bunnies with Autotrails - but what we don't know is how many very happy bunnies there are because we only see the problem vans high lighted on here?

I guess you pays yer money and takes yer chances with any modern complex and expensive Motorhome and getting a good trustworthy and reliable dealer is probably as important as getting the right make of van?

I would agree with Tracker, the 'Imala' is a new 'Range' this year, and I'm not sure where 'Budget' wise it 'sits' in the Autotrail line up ? There is the 'Tracker' range, The 'Apache' and the 'Frontier'

cheaper through to most expensive. Owning a 'Savannah' in the Frontier range i am not 'overly impressed' with the Build quality and detail finish, although we love the layout, (we have been away in ours for 4 months this year). They seem to have let the 'quality' slip since about 2007/8. A friend has a 'Tracker' of that year, and it is 'streets ahead' in quality compared to ours.

If Autocruise were still in production (and NOT run by Swift) and making Coachbuilts I would have bought one of those (an Augusta) in a Flash, as my previous van, a Starlet 2 was very well put together.