Increasing revenue weight

flyboyprowler

I was surprised to find that our van was really close to the revenue weight of 3880 kgs, when we had our first MOT last week. There was virtually nothing on board, so we need to increase the weight to around 5 tonnes.

The base is a sprinter long wheel base, and a 2 axle body, with a 3 ltr Mercedes motor.

Has anyone done a weight change, or know what is required by the DVLA. I have tried to contact them by email, but the system isn't working, now there's a surprise!

The chassis should go to around 7 tonnes, but the dealer seems to think that no mods will be required for a higher weight, and that the 3880 limit is only there for revenue purposes. Any thoughts there!

Thanks all,

A

...I'm no expert on the MB Sprinter (which is the likely basis for your vehicle), but things may well be a little more difficult than your dealer thinks.

The maximum GVW for such vehicles is dictated by the version of the chassis on which they are built. They were provided in various different forms, with (in some cases significant e.g. twin rear wheels) technical differences to support increasing weights.

I think it is unlikely, therefore, that you will be able easily to increase the GVW to even 5 tonnes (let alone 7!)

3880kg is a common value used for the 3xx versions of the chassis (the lighter end). There are certain indications that it might be possible to increase this to 4200kg as largely a paper exercise, but possibly no further.

Of course, there is also a possibility that you have a 4xx or 5xx chassis, which would give further options, but 3880kg would be a downplate on these versions, and (unlike going down to 3500kg) I can't see any logical point in doing this, so I would think it unlikely.

As above, SVTech will be able to advise, but I think it might be best to adjust your expectations.

Robinhood - 2014-10-18 12:37 PM