south of France

tonyl101

hi i am new to this so please be gentle lol

me and my wife are planning a trip to the south of france around march the 20th is and wounder if some one could share there knowledge with us we have a swift kontiki tag and are towing a smart on a trailer so we are quite big

i was pondering the following

tunnel or ferry ?

were to stay near the sea would be nice

stop over on way ?

thanks in advance

We tow an iQ on a trailer and have had little trouble toring in France, although we tend to avoid those French campsites which have small demarcated pitches and when tranisting we prefer to use Aires. Only occasionally have we had to unhitch to park up but it always seems to be possible to park up somehow. In low season site owners will often allow you to park the trailer on an adjacent pitch when necessary and we've never been charged for this.

We used to use the Tunnel and Tesco vouchers but now use ferries on cost/expediency grounds. We only book a single journey to allow us flexibility on our return - and as long as you book at least 5/6 days ahead (on line for the return trip) you can avoid the higher prices of last minute bookings.

Forgot to add that we used the (mostly free) A75 to head South and aimed for Cap D'Adge, purely because it looked on the map to be the closest coastal opportunity. The campsite was closed and the Aires was just a section of car park behind the harbour-side flats - but the fact that it was a very popular resort with the Gay community made it educational as well as entertaining. We didn't stay long.