Campervan running costs

highscot

Hi I am a newbie But going to get a campervan in the near future Going to live in it till i pop my clogs Just trying to work out running costs if anybody doing the same thing full time I am up in the Scottish Highlands and am going to travel Scotland for the rest of my life.

Just have no idea of costs going to get a mid sized van 2 or 4 berth max.

Gas cost all year

Average diesel mpg

Average tyres cost

Service Costs

Insurance

I know it will be just a rough idea as everybody is different

Road tax or anything else i have missed would be or great help.

Ronnie

Hi

Wellcome to the forum

I'm sure when you but your MH , you will find that Scotland is amazing, but so is Europe.

Tyers average cost £125-150 each.

Insurance, we pay £350 incl euro recovery.

Economy anything from low 20s to 42mpg for a well driven Van Conversion ( our present 3.8 t does 22-25 mpg with a 3 ltr engine. V6. Manual gearbox. We are downsizing slightly and expect 33mpg average.

I have a Renault van, kitted out as a workshop, same weight as a van conversion, economy for that is 36-42 mpg, if I try. ( for those whom disbelieve, and there will be some, pop round any time)!!!

Service costs , I paid at a merc garage £185 for a full service, excl break fluid replacement.

Gas costs, we use refillable bottles and on average fill up 3-4 times per year £60 perhaps.

Hope this is of some help

Dennis