Which Ducato engine

AlanMos

I am going to purchase a Ducato X290 based PVC and am unsure about selecting the 130 or 148 Bhp engine. Is there a significant difference in power/torque on the road?. It will be close to 3.5 t and I like to get a move on when appropriate. Anyone got experience/advice please?

Best wishes, Alan

While I have no experience with the x290 yet, my new van arrives in march, I have had 2x x250s. One was a pvc with a 120 engine and the other, my current coachbuilt 6m burstner 585 with a 130 engine, and I have to say I found the 120 sluggish compared to the 130. 130 will hold its own in traffic and will cruise comfortably at 70 mph all day. You have to use 5th when going up a long incline on the motorway but I have never thought that I wished it had more power. I would save the money and put it towards some extras to be honest. However as I said at the start I have never owned a 148bhp model

Fiat’s data for the X290’s 2.3litre powerplants are

Power: 130 HP at 3600 rpm

Torque: 320 Nm at 1800 rpm

Power: 148 HP at 3600 rpm

Torque: 350 Nm at 1500 rpm

Comparing two motorhomes fitted with those motors on a like-for-like basis (ie. the vehicles are identical except for one having the 130 Multijet powerplant and the other having the 150 Multijet) the greater power/torque of the 150 MJ should be noticeable during normal driving, and the heavier the motorhome is and the faster it is driven the more noticeble the power/torque difference will become.

I also have an X290-based motorhome on order and I’ve specified the 150 MJ motor rather than the standard 130 MJ. I don’t think the 130 MJ motor would be inadequate, but - as I’ve always sworn I’d never buy a ******* SEVEL-based motorhome - I’ve decided that I might as well have a quickish one as a sort of ‘consolation prize’.

(Don’t suggest I should opt for the 3.0litre motor. It’s not an option on the model I’m buying.)

AlanMos - 2015-01-18 11:06 PM