Buying my first Motorhome - help needed

Dennisthemenace

Hello everyone,

I'm new to motorhomes and I'm determined to buy one this spring. I've wanted to do it for ages, so here goes.

However, I've spent months on the internet and visiting dealers sites, but all to no avail. WHICH ONE to buy ?. The more I see the more I'm confused . I've seen some really rubbish ones and many the wrong layout. So I thought I might ask you experts which one to go for.

Here is my list of must haves -

Maximum budget £27000

Overall length -- no more than 22 feet

Fixed bed or rear kitchen

Over cab storage

Bike rack

Awning

Good kitchen layout

Mint condition

Well serviced

Low mileage.

Any good suggestions would be appreciated please.

Sounds like our layout!! We have a swift Sundance.2006

I would not go for a fixed bed in a van 22ft long. I like the rear end kitchen as it keeps the cooking out of the way With your budget you will be looking for something 5 or more years old (I would think) There are some good well loved vans out there, keep googleing !

PJay

Do you have C1 category on your driving license? If not you will be restricted to a gross weight of 3500kg, this will restrict your choice if you want a decent payload.

Is the length restriction due to parking limitation if not another foot or two will give a lot more choice. Why over cab storage assuming there are only two of you why not go for a van with a garage, over cab bed vans are not as stable and effected by side winds more than low profile or A Class vans.

Fixed bed is a good choice we wouldn't have a van without one we also prefer a fixed table, the kitchen is always a compromise in a Motorhome, you learn to adapt, a good shower is more important to us.

You can always fit an awning later, be aware they weigh about 40 -45kg which reduces your payload.