Advice on motorhome purchase

TabletRablet

Hi,

I am new to motorhoming, having borrowed a friend's 1986 Fiat Ducato 6 berth campervan last year for a few trips. I am now hoping to buy my own and am trying to do as much research as I can before committing. I do not have a big budget, prob £10K max. I have quite specific needs and I am aware that finding the perfect van is likely to take some time.

What I'd love from anyone on here who can offer advice, is any thoughts that might help me find it.

Apologies in advance for the length of this post.

So, firstly, what I'll be using the van for:

- mostly weekend trips to BMX races so needs to be able to carry bikes

- a week here and there in the summer

- a week ski-ing in the winter

Secondly, what I think I need from the van:

- at least 4 berths but with three separate beds, more probably a 5 berth with an overcab double, a double and a single in the rear, I have three children and one of them needs his own bed

- ideally I want the same layout as my friend's which is a 4 seater dinette behind the front cab, kitchen area running up the side of the van opposite the dinette, sofa to the rear which can be a single or double with toilet/shower room opposite. Side door is in the middle of the van, kitchen to left as you enter, rear sofa to right. With this layout I have been able to carry the bikes in the van, beside the rear sofa when travelling and then stow them about the van at night (two in front cab, one alongside the dinette-double

- a winterised van probably probably with on board fresh and waste water tanks to avoid freezing in the cold

- and all the usual things like cooker, toilet, shower, etc.