Newbie!

nigelF

Hi all,

Right, I'm new to all this motorhome malarkey! I've a caravan up north, so I've an idea of how these things work. My reason for joining this forum is to gain a further insight into purchasing a second hand motorhome.

I'm looking for a 3 to 4 berth and to spend 7k to 10k. Now, I know this doesn't sound much considering the eye watering amount some of them cost, but start small I say! Preferably an end kitchen, good shower as I'll be using at times when on work contracts, but not too big I can't navigate country lanes. I like coach builds with the overhead sleeping bunk.

Any advice please on where to look apart from evilBay, Gumtree and Autotrader. And, what pitfalls should I be looking out for?

Kind Regards,

Nigel

Hi Nigel...

I was going to suggest something like a Hymer....

eg

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Hymer-B544-Motorhome-Camper-RHD-PAS-Turbo-diesel-/171741109323?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item27fc915c4b

...but they may be a bit big to meet your, "navigate country lanes" criteria.....?

(having said that, their "footprint" will be no bigger than a non-A class)

For the sort of sums you're talking of, if looking at a UK made van, I'd maybe look at a monocoque Auto-Sleeper? (and budget for covers to mask the granny's parlour upholstery).

Pitfalls?...in this price bracket(or any price bracket for that matter!), WATER INGRESS/DAMP... ;-)

..and look to buy private..

Guest pelmetman
nigelF - 2015-04-02 4:45 PM

I'm looking for a 3 to 4 berth and to spend 7k to 10k. Now, I know this doesn't sound much considering the eye watering amount some of them cost, but start small I say! Preferably an end kitchen, good shower as I'll be using at times when on work contracts, but not too big I can't navigate country lanes. I like coach builds with the overhead sleeping bunk.

l

A decent reliable, and comfortable coachbuilt camper is perfectly feasible for that sort of money ;-) ..............