Total newbie with a huge motorhome - where to start?

LBUK

Hello,

A relative has bought a Hobby Toskana d690 and is anticipating all of the relatives and the kids getting a lot of use out of it but none of us have ever been on a camping holiday or motorhome holiday as adults.

We have a toddler and my first thought is that we're going to be attached to the motorhome at all times because we won't be able to take it off the A roads. It's 7.5m long apparently!

I've got a million questions...

Is it something you can just jump in and drive without running someone off the road?

Do all motorhome sites accommodate vehicles of this size?

Do you just turn up or book in advance?

Once parked etc, how do you travel around? Are you dependant on buses etc?

What do you actually do all day during these types of holidays?

Do sites tend to have their own activities and attractions?

What is the day to day maintenance?

What things must be done before and after each holiday?

Is there an ultimate resource to answer all of these types of probably stupid questions? Thanks.

FIRST OF ALL Can you all drive it on your licences?? If it is over 3500 tonne , then you need to look to see if you are allowed to drive it. If in Uk then it would pay you to join the Caravan Club or or The Camping and Caravan Club., as You will need to book sites especially at weekends and holidays, and july/August Insurance, would need to have ALL drivers named? Research where you are going, it is much bigger than a car I think your relative is very generous to let all and sundry drive, or maybe naive?? Make sure that child seats are secure, and not on sideways facing seats. I would have a test drive without children in to distract you

i am sure lot's more will be along to give advice

PJay