Dometic Aircon

audiseller

Hi, I'm a newbie on here but told that this is the definitive forum!

Does anybody have a recent Dometic A/C unit fitted with the optional DC2 kit fitted to allow operation whilst driving? I'm not convinced that Dometic UK fully understand the way in which these are intended to operate so would like to quiz any other owners.

Thanks in anticipation.

Guest JudgeMental
cant help Im afraid. but when I had a roof a/c and a large inverter + 2 batteries it struggle on the road (away from a/c supply) and cut out frequently. I think I needed a bigger alternator which is a common option these days..

We have a Weaco (Now Dometic) fitted . Had in from new 2006. Ours can be used on 12v while driving, (with a remote control )but best to turn off when stopped, as will flatten the battery.It also can be used as a heater on ehu if needed.

You don't say if you have it fitted or are thinking about it? In truth it is nice, but we don't use it much, (though did in Spain recently) Not sure I would bother to spend that sort of money again, as an electric fan would have served the purpose

PJay

Whether roof aircon is useful to you or not depends largely on when/where you tour and I wasn't convinced I'd have one again until the last couple of years, when longer term touring in France taught me it was. And here in UK it's currently a real blessing, so I've decided roof air definitely is worthwhile.

No experience of running it while driving because we have dash aircon too, which is also a real blessing.