Use domestic sewer access cover for dumping???

manxli

Hi

I was just reading an american RV post about dumping waste at home. It was mentioned that some 'municipalities' ban this.

We sometimes arrive home with 'business' in the cassette, which until now I've emptied into our downstairs toilet with extreme caution not to splash etc..

There is an access manhole outside, so I thought I might lift it and dump there. Anybody done likewise and is it allowed? I'll have to ask here in Switzerland, but it would also be useful when visiting relatives in GB.

Alan

I've been doing exactly that (both of) for nigh on 50 years and nobody has ever complained!

You might need to check that you don't empty into a septic tank as the chemicals, formaldehyde I think mainly, may harm the biological process - apparantly - which I believe is why the very expensive green liquid was introduced?

I dumped our toilet cassette, complete with blue liquid, into our manhole, which leads to a septic tank, and over a priod of 2 years it didn't appear to compromise the septic tank in any way. We probably only did it a dozen times per year or less, so doing it more frequently might be more of a risk but we certainly didn't have any problems.

Guest Joe90
Must confess I'm mystified by the question, don't we all do our dumps in the loo, so what's the problem with a cassette down the loo as long as it is connected to the main sewer if using formaldehyde, as for lifting manhole covers, I wouldn't, you may enjoy your neighbours pong as well as your own, as well as putting your back out ;-)

manxli - 2015-07-14 8:14 PM

Hi

I was just reading an american RV post about dumping waste at home. It was mentioned that some 'municipalities' ban this.

We sometimes arrive home with 'business' in the cassette, which until now I've emptied into our downstairs toilet with extreme caution not to splash etc..