Fuel Consumption and Brake Horse Power

Fellbound

I posed this query on another forum yesterday (sorry!) but haven't got a definitive answer. It is, to some extent, academic and posed just out of interest. I have a new MH arriving next week. It's got a Peugeot 2.2 engine with 150 BHP.

I know many new MHs have 130 BHP 2.2 engines. I have very little technical knowledge and was wondering what impact the higher BHP would have on diesel consumption. I've assumed it would be lower but wondered if the higher BHP might mean that that there will be less changing down through the gears and this could be beneficial on fuel consumption. As you can possibly see from that comment I am probably a bit clueless about these things!

From an engine of the same cubic capacity; in your case 2.2 litres, the difference in power between 130 and 150hp is not very much really. What is different is the way that extra power is provided.

If the 130hp has a normal turbo, and the 150hp has a variable rate turbo the latter can be more economical, but normally is not since it also encourages you to make the most of the extra power and therefore waste fuel!

What is much more important is the relative amount of torque. An increase of 50Nm from, say 300 to 350 will make a significant difference to how the vehicle pulls in lower gears and therefore how often you find yourself changing gear. This results in a more relaxed driving style and this can improve fuel consumption.

At the end of the day it's all in your hands. Or feet!

Fuel consumption varies from driver to driver, even in what appear to be identical vehicles and those vehicles have engines that are subject to certain tolerances and rates of wear along with varying vehicle body types and weights, so most figures are pretty meaningless.

I always go for the most POWERRR!

But that's just me.