Battery Drainage

Pete-B

Hi, Perhaps a question for the more knowledgeable amongst us, not being a lecky expert myself.

I bought a new Bessie E462 a few months ago and the dealer fitted a 80w solar panel mainly for keeping the batteries topped up (two 100amp leisure and engine battery) whilst the van is in storage during the winter months. The panel feeds into a regulator which monitors both batteries with the leisure batteries having priority. When these are full it then switches all the power to the engine battery After our last trip I left the in the storage yard for a couple of weeks and during which time it was mainly quite sunny. When I went to collect the van the LED which shows the state of the engine battery on the solar regulator was red which means the battery is right down or flat. As luck would have it there was enough left to start the engine.

I went back to the dealer who I have to say is brilliant and does all he can for his customers. I explained the problem and he did a series of checks which showed the panel was faulty, he put a meter on it and the output varied quite a bit minute by minute whilst the weather stayed sunny also the LED on the regulator which lights up when it's sunny was unlit. He has to order a new panel so in the meantime he left the old one connected but changed the wiring over on the regulator to make the engine battery priority. He also suggested I call into my local main Fiat dealer and get them to do a full health check on the engine battery which I did, this proved the battery itself was in good condition.

I left the van two or three days in storage and when I went to pick it up I checked the LED's on the regulator. The one for the leisure batteries was flashing to show they were fully charged and the engine one was just green showing normal? I would have thought if this had priority this one would be flashing and the leisure ones should be static or am I missing something?