EHU - Simple (?) question from newbie

Fellbound

I'm still very new at this.

When on EHU is the base vehicle battery being charged as well as the leisure battery? If so would being on EHU occasionally on the drive at home help the base vehicle battery when MH not being used that much over winter?

MH is a Marquis Majestic 105 (ie based on an Eldiss Accordio 105).

Yes i found out the same on EHU the charger only supplies the vehicle battery a float charge, which means it never gets fully charged around (80%) i believe.

Even the alternator does not fully charge the battery again i am told this is around (90%) the only way to fully charge a vehicle starter battery is by using a separate charger I am afraid,

Neil

Thanks for the suggestions, folks. I just sort of assumed the EHU would automatically charge both batteries.I don't have a volt meter to check so will also double check with Eldiss like one of those who kindly replied.

It seems that yet again a simple question doesn't have a simple answer...... :-(

I think that it is fairly normal for motorhome batteries not to be linked when NOT on EHU.

But it I would suggest that it is normal for them to be linked/charging when on EHU.

There is a simple (albeit costly) device from Vanbitz which will sort out all battery charging issues both on and off EHU. See: http://www.vanbitz.com/product/battery-master/

We have fitted this device to our last two vehicles and it works well. Excellent when fitted to a MH with a solar panel, no more flat batteries in storage.

Alternatively buy an Adria which does charge both batteries when on EHU (lol)

Matrix Meanderer - 2015-09-27 6:30 PM

There is a simple (albeit costly) device from Vanbitz which will sort out all battery charging issues both on and off EHU. See: http://www.vanbitz.com/product/battery-master/

...the cheaper (and very similar) option is one of these: