Viewing a Motorhome

Dibsy

We have been looking for our first motorhome for a few months. We have decided on the layout (after borrowing one from a friend); bunk beds, half dinette, swivel seat and a side bench with overcab bed and budget (absolute max of £20000).

Anyhow we have now found one locally which we are going to view later this week. It is for sale privately. It is a Pilote Atlantis A5 (2003).

So being an absolute beginner with minimal mechanical knowledge what should I look for?

I obviously need to make sure everything is working/see it in action. I have so much running around my head it is difficult to come up with some sensible sort of list...

Also does anyone know if this motorhome is suitable for winter use?

Thanks in advance

Dibsy

As a basic rule of thumb make sure everything, and I mean everything works as it should and the includes fridge, cooker, water heater, heating, windows, seat swivels etc, etc, etc.  It's your money so don't be afraid to have a real good check of everything functioning.

However before doing any of that ask about base vehicle servicing records (self explanatory), habitation service records and damp check reports.  Habitation checks show the MH has been given a 'living' side 'health check' and the most important is the damp check report which will highlight if there are damp issues....and if there are I would walk away because damp can seriously 'damage your wealth'.

However if there is no damp check report and you are seriously wanting the MH ask the seller if they would object to you having it checked which if agreed to will give weight to the buy or run away decision.