Leisure Batteries for Beginners

Dibsy

I'm after some advice about leisure batteries; please bear in mind that I'm an absolute beginner here and am trying to educate myself into the world of motorhomes!

I've managed to find information online (http://www.leisurebatteries.net/ and http://www.campingandcaravanningclub.co.uk/helpandadvice/technicalhelp/power/a-guide-to-leisure-batteries/) and think I understand how they are built and work in a basic sense.

What I can't really find any information about is the practical stuff, for example;

1) If I hook-up how long should the battery take to charge?

2) Will it become fully charged from hookup (and should I really expect it to ever be fully charged)? And will it only charge when the control panel is switched on?

3) Will it become fully charged when driving?

4) How long should I expect it to last? I realise this is a how long is a piece of string question but with quite low usage (LED lights, no TV, charging phones, water pump etc).

5) Our motorhome is not new and therefore the battery is not new - how can I check that the battery is working well?

We have a Pilote Atlantis A5. I'm not sure what type of battery it is - I'm going to have a look on Wednesday when I go and sort a few motorhome things out.

What else do I need to know?

Thanks for your replies to what probably seem like really basic questions!

Dibsy

Dibsy - 2016-01-04 8:04 PM

I'm after some advice about leisure batteries; please bear in mind that I'm an absolute beginner here and am trying to educate myself into the world of motorhomes!

I've managed to find information online (http://www.leisurebatteries.net/ and http://www.campingandcaravanningclub.co.uk/helpandadvice/technicalhelp/power/a-guide-to-leisure-batteries/) and think I understand how they are built and work in a basic sense.

What I can't really find any information about is the practical stuff, for example;