A Frame

Guest adhple

There was an 8-page-long forum discussion in 2011 as a result of a similar question being asked (relating specifically to being fined for A-framing in Spain rather than stopped in Europe). Might be worth you ploughing through it...

http://forums.outandaboutlive.co.uk/forums/Motorhomes/Motorhome-Matters/A-Frame-fines/25123/

And this more recent (April 2015) forum thread (also relating to Spain)

http://forums.outandaboutlive.co.uk/forums/Motorhomes/Motorhome-Matters/Spain-and-towing-a-car-with-an-A-Frame/37955/

includes a forum-member (PeteH) saying that he had been stopped 3 times when A-framing in Spain.

For a summary of the situation there’s a full-page article ( “Are A-Frames legal in Europe?”) on Page 200 of the latest (March 2016) issue of MMM magazine.

I have been using a Braked A-frame here in the UK for 3 years, no problems. Wouldn't chance it on the Continent though.

Perfectly safe way of taking your car with you, but if you want to do it in Europe, use a trailer, if you have the tow capacity.

gordonaldson - 2016-02-05 7:36 PM

...Bare A frames are just for emergency purposes...

This is one of those ‘everybody knows is true’ things, but I’m not sure it actually is the case in the UK.

Out of curiosity I did some research once about how one vehicle might legally tow another (whether the latter was broken down or not) and I failed to establish what the UK law was.

So I’d be interested to learn if anyone can identify which (if any) motoring regulations prohibit using an unbraked A-frame, or a solid bar, or a tow-rope to tow a car that is in fully working order and when there’s no ‘emergency’. (And I’m not asking to be pointed at RAC, AA , Caravan Club or police forums that offer opinions - I want the specific regulations identified.)

Derek Uzzell - 2016-02-06 9:37 AM