Complete Beginner!

lawlorka

Hi All

I just bought my first motorhome. Its a 4 berth Compass Avantgarde 100 (2002 model) which I believe is the same as an Eldiss Autoquest 100.

I am a complete beginner! I have only been in motorhomes when I was very young, or they belonged to someone else so never had to run one by myself!

It will be used mostly at Dog Agility shows so we won't have hook up the majority of the time and it will mostly be just me and my 2 dogs, although the OH might join occassionally.

We have an EHU cable, and a 6kg gas cylinder, leisure battery and all the toilet chemicals. I'm just making a 'shopping' list and was wondering what other 'essentials' you think I will need. I am doing a 'test run' next weekend for two nights at a local site just to make sure I know what I'm doing and everything runs smoothly before taking it further afield later in the month.

I'm really excited about it though. Can't wait to get motoring! :-D

Hi and welcome to the forum.

If you spend most of your nights away without hook up (EHU) then a solar panel and second battery would be useful, especially if you want to watch tv, run fans, microwave, lap tops etc

If you are going to cook and eat in the van you will need most of the utensils you have in your home kitchen but lighter in weight as you will need to consider payload.

You will almost certainly need levelling ramps.

A torch, a fire extinguisher, out door seating and somewhere to enclose the dogs when travelling and on site. An insulating screen cover for the windscreen, a hose pipe and water carrier/can.

Cliffy - 2016-02-06 5:48 PM

Hi and welcome to the forum.

If you spend most of your nights away without hook up (EHU) then a solar panel and second battery would be useful, especially if you want to watch tv, run fans, microwave, lap tops etc