Insurance & Breakdown

IFFY

I'm new to all this so bear with me

*-)

We (my wife and I) are importing a used Hymer B544 (15yrs old) plated to 4000kg.

Can anyone recommend Breakdown & Insurance brokers that provide a service for this weight.

Standard AA / RAC / etc seem to limit European Cover to 3500kg and less than 11yrs old

We may well downplate to 3500kg if all proving a bit complicated but we still need breakdown to get it back to UK (insurance may be covered initially by trade plates).

Any advice welcome

The temporary export plates only cover you for 3rd party.

I wouldn't worry too much about having breakdown insurance. You would be very unlucky to breakdown during the 400 mile journey from Germany to UK.

If you are buying from a dealer, perhaps you could ask him about breakdown insurance for the European leg.

You can normally get fully comp insurance once you arrive in UK based on the VIN number.

Breakdown insurance for the UK leg might be more difficult as they would want your UK reg number which you wouldn't have yet obtained.

Best advice is to drive very carefully with fingers crossed. I did it with a brand new van and survived the journey.

Alternatively, put it on a lowloader and pick it up at the UK port of entry (or direct to your home). Approx cost would be about 1500 Euro based on others who have done this recently.

ADAC, the German AA will provide breakdown cover anywhere in Europe for any vehicle you are in ( note you don't even have to be driving).

Do a search on here for ADAC, there are a few posts. You get recovery home if it can't be fixed, driver if you are ill, partner covered as well, hotel bills, and lots more. "Plus" membership is £84 for a couple, beats the AA and RAC I think.

H

PS Yes, they even speak English and will enrol you over the phone.

breakaleg - 2016-02-11 2:44 PM

RAC Arrival purchased through the caravan and camping club will handle any size of van but you have to be a member.

Pete