Weights and licences

ianhugh

My wife and I are total novices when it comes to using motorhomes, however we have talked about getting one for years. A couple of years ago we visited some dealers and went to a show and decided what we wanted – rear lounge, six sleeping berth, and six travelling seats. We have three children and four grandchildren with another two due within weeks and had always wanted to take them and also to let them use it themselves. So, as I retired last December, we decided then the time was right to buy one.

So, armed with list of possibilities we went out one day in January, and decided on a Rollerteam Autoroller 746, two year old, 5000 miles and an automatic to suit my wife. We paid a holding deposit and I went back four days later for a test drive on my own and decided that this was good enough to buy, but wanted my wife just to see it again before we committed to this expense. We both went the following Saturday and signed on the dotted line.

There were some things needing to be done, like a dividing curtain, new flooring, different number plates, etc., so we agreed on a date two weeks later. In between times, the local caravan and motorhome show was on and the dealer asked if we could delay picking our van up as they were very busy. We agreed and were asked to pick it up two days later than first agreed. On the day and at the time advised, we duly turned up and were told it wasn’t ready. We were asked to come back in and hour or so and this we did, only to find it still wasn’t ready! So, at about 4.15ish, we were finally told it was ready for us and the young salesman did an extremely quick handover as he was going out to the cinema with his friend.