Novice Motorhomer!!

Tricks

Hi all, my family and I have hired a Swift 686 motorhome for 7 nights and had hoped to do a tour of Cornwall. However, the motorhome will be our only form of transport and after some research it appears that almost all council car parks do not permit motorhomes to park (not overnight, just for a couple of hours while we visit the villages and towns). As we are complete novices when it comes motorhomes I am hoping to be inspired!!.

I contacted the council and visit cornwall as well as local visitor centre's and all were very unhelpful!

If anyone could advice I would be enormously grateful.

Many thanks

Have a look here, http://www.motorhomeparking.co.uk/conw.htm

There's usually somewhere to park, but probably not too many council pay and display car parks.

T'other week we decided to go to Truro from Crantock, decided I couldn't be bothered with trying to find a parking place and went on the bus, IIRC was £6 return for two of us, cheaper than driving + parking.

A good tip for St Ives (in car as well as van) is park up at Lelant Saltings and catch the train

witzend - 2016-04-22 8:51 PM

For Truro I've seen motorhomes parked in the park an ride parks for visiting the town I'm afraid the Council are very anti motorhomes and not surprised they offered no help.

https://www.cornwall.gov.uk/transport-and-streets/parking/cornwall-council-car-parks/motorhome-parking/

Nice, very 'Welcome to Cornwall' Then. No wonder most on here flock to Europe.

Unfortunately not all of us can use Public Transport , Disabled with a Dog, answer seems to be 'Pixx off then ! '

Rayjsj - 2016-04-22 9:44 PM

witzend - 2016-04-22 8:51 PM

For Truro I've seen motorhomes parked in the park an ride parks for visiting the town I'm afraid the Council are very anti motorhomes and not surprised they offered no help.

https://www.cornwall.gov.uk/transport-and-streets/parking/cornwall-council-car-parks/motorhome-parking/