Newbie needs advice

fpinela

I am a complete noob about motorhomes, and all I know is simply obtained with online research, although it always fascinated me, and I need some advice/opinions about my thoughts. Recently I changed my job and now work remotely full time, as a software developer. All I need really is a laptop and internet connection, which is giving me some ideas to take advantage of this flexibility and spend some time in a nicer weather and travel to France/Spain/Portugal.

Initial idea was simply to rent somewhere there but the dream of doing it while on the road with a motorhome is now in my mind.

There's a few questions I need to answer before moving forward with this idea and maybe someone can give me some advice.

Would it be possible to have 2 laptops (20/30 watts each - my girlfriend will also be working on her own project) on 6/8/10 hours a day without being hooked up all the time? We would be mainly in southern european countries with more sunlight than here in West Yorkshire, I would suppose that in this situation and needing a lot of power getting solar with be a good option, how much in average does it cost to install solar panels/leisure batteries to cover our requirements?

Also, internet could be possibly be a bit of a struggle. Any solution which you would recommend apart from the usual 3g/4g usb dongles? How is the coverage around France/Spain?

A lot of questions and I'm sure there's still a lot more which I don't have in mind yet, but if you have any other advice I would really appreciate it.

Thanks,

:-D

You say you will have 2 laptops working (20 - 30 watts each).

That sounds too optimistic, my last Laptop was rated at 60 watts. 8-) That is why I now use a netbook instead (just for browsing and keeping up with forums etc.)

Apart from that, you may need a hookup as southern Europe sometimes gets cloudy days and rain at times. A campsite cost should be nothing compared to the ability to be making money by working.