Polarity Issues

haddock2685

Hello All

Please be gentle with me... I'm not that technical and am on quite a steep (electrical) learning curve here.

I purchased a little while ago a 'polarity tester' for an upcoming trip to France. When I originally tested it on our motorhome hooked up at home all three lights came up showing a correct supply.

Since then a couple of things have happened; firstly the motorhome went into the suppliers workshop to have a bike rack fitted, then subsequent to this, the hydraulic slave unit on the clutch failed and the motorhome has been into Adams Morey (Portsmouth - highly recommended) to be repaired. We went away last weekend and on testing the polarity on-site, found that it was reversed. I thought nothing of this until I plugged the polarity checker in whilst I was hooked up at home and it is still showing reverse polarity in the 3 pin sockets in the van. I have checked the socket that the hook-up lead is plugged in to and this reports a normal supply.

My question is, what could have changed on the internal electrics in our motorhome to cause the polarity to now be reversed?

Or could it be something to do with the cable?

I’d be most grateful for any guidance that you might be able to shed on this.

Regards

Alan

Hopefully you will get lots of good advice .......however there are many, including myself, an ex spark, who totally ignore 'reverse polarity' as it has, and never will, cause any problems!

Good luck :-D

Some vans have in-built polarity correction facilities and perhaps yours is one of them. Do you have all the conversion information that should have been supplied with the vehicle? A god read of this should tell you if your van has the polarity correcting feature, if it has then something has happened to upset it and it needs sorting out..