Using a motorhome as weekday home

ciderdrinker

Hi all

I'm a complete newbie and am thinking of buying a second-hand motorhome to live in during the week. It's my intention to live permanently by the coast in a house, but I work in an office in Buckinghamshire and I will need to live up there for 4 nights a week. Could you guys give me some advice?

Where can I park? My office doesn't have parking facilities so I would need to be somewhere nearby. Can you park on any reasonably wide road or are there restrictions? Does anyone know of any camping sites around High Wycombe (Google did yield much)? Safety is an issue too as I'm a single female.

What about clean water? If I fill up my tank at home, would that be enough for 5 days in the van with cooking, washing, toilet etc?

How do I empty the toilet if I'm not on a campsite? For 5 days, with toilet facilities in the office, I'm hoping I wouldn't use it as much as if I were there all day, but it will need emptying, where can I do that?

As I'll only be there during the week and will have a permanent address I'm not worried about things like laundry, post etc. but I will want internet to watch TV/Netflix etc online on a laptop. What would you advise to do that?

What insurance would I need? Are there any costs specific to motorhomes that are different from say owning a car?

Think that's all my initial questions. I really appreciate any help you guys could give, thanks a lot.

Hi and welcome to the forum.

There are a lot of pitfalls in what you are contemplating, and I am not advising you to do it.

Nevertheless, there are more single women living in motorhomes than you might imagine.

Statistically, men are far more likely to be attacked than women, but that may be because they take more risks, I don't know.