New 12v compressor fridge problems

chrisrogers731

Firstly, I am a complete newbie having just bought a Vauxhall Vivaro camper conversion last week. I am having difficulty getting the fitted 12v compressor fridge to work and was hoping you may be able to advise.

It worked when I first got it last week. But I went away in it at the weekend and when I opened it up after the first night, it had stopped working. I didn't have a mains hook-up so I'm guessing my 75ah leisure battery just isn't capable of powering it?

Everything else (lights, water pump etc) continued to work all weekend.

Now I'm home, I've connected it to a mains hook-up and the in-van battery charger is on and charging (it's been on for a couple of hours now). However still no sign of life from the fridge. No chill, and no light coming on when you open the door. I tried it with engine running too. Still nothing.

So I guess my question is:

Does the leisure battery need to reach a certain amount of charge - even when connected to the mains - for the fridge to start working again? So if I leave it connected and charging for a day or two, should the fridge come back to life when the battery is more charged?

Or should a 12v compressor fridge work as soon as you have a mains hook-up, even if the leisure battery is low?

Any advice you can offer would be greatly received. It is a new professional conversion, so I'm hoping there's nothing wrong with the fridge or wiring. As I said, it was definitely chilling and the light coming on when I hooked it up to the mains before the weekend.

Thanks

Hi Chris,

You say "it worked when I first got it"

Does that mean: the interior light came on: it reached your selected temperature: you heard the thermostat operating, and compressor working.

It does sound as though you have a battery issue, do you have any battery voltage monitor that would have given you advance warning of your need to attach to hook-up?