Battery Isolator question.

AllyF

Hi.

I'm new to motorhoming. I bought a 2006 VW LWB Crafter conversion so that I can stick a large motorbike in the back.

On the electrical side it has 2 x 110 ah leisure batteries, a CBE PC100 controler, with a CBE 516 battery charger and a Duritc voltage relay switch. I have since also fitted a 120 w solar panel wired via a solar reg. into the controller. Everything works fine - EXCEPT all my 3 batteries show the same voltage - this was the case before I fitted the SP.

I found that the van battery would not start the van after about 3 or 4 days on my drive (this was before I fitted the SP). My understanding was that when plugged into the mains that the split charger and relay switch should charge the van battery and then switch to the leisure batteries, which may be the case - but why then do all batteries show a reduced charge after 3 or 4 days. I would have thought that the van battery would retain it's charge. My 2006 Fiat Scudo panel van can sit there for 2 months unused and still start 1st time.

I know that VWs have canbus computers and alarms etc. but would have thought that these would have little drain on the battery. Now I have the solar panel, the batteries are always charged up, but it would be good to know what is draining the batteries - as far as I am aware everything is switched off. I'm more concerned about the van not starting when away than not having enough juice for the tv, lights etc.

The green status windows on the leisure batteries say they are ok.

Are van batteries usually connected to the the leisure batteries or completely isolated - except for the charger link?

Would fitting an isolator switch into the van battery +ve cable solve my problems?

I have already replaced the van battery with a brand new one but same issue occurs.

Do other people have similar problems with van battery running flat.?