Pilote Galaxy 270 2003 tax

4dogsontour

I am very interested in a Pilote Galaxy 270 (2003). This will be my first motorhome so I have no experience of tax and insurance costs.

The vehicle weighs more than 3500 tonne (3850) and is A Class so I am concerned road tax may be high.

Are there any Galaxy owners who could advise me how much road tax might cost per annum? I have looked at the Government website and cannot work it out as there are so many categories. I was born 1959 so I can drive this class of vehicle.

Thanks

Frank

Randonneur - 2016-09-13 5:18 PM

But don't forget that you will be subject to reduced speed limits with a van over 3500kgs. Swings and roundabouts.

Sorry Randonneur but that is INCORRECT!

You are only limited to lower speed limits if your UNLADEN weight is greater than 3,050 kg. That is actually 3 old English tons.

See the third and forth lines here...

https://www.gov.uk/speed-limits

Keith.

Keithl - 2016-09-13 5:32 PM

But don't forget that you will be subject to reduced speed limits with a van over 3500kgs. Swings and roundabouts.

You are only limited to lower speed limits if your UNLADEN weight is greater than 3,050 kg. That is actually 3 old English tons.

Keith.

If you are correct, why do these vehicles have to display speed limit signs.

Randonneur - 2016-09-13 6:15 PM

Keith.

Sorry but I was unaware of having to display speed limit signs, do you have any info to back this up please?

Keith.

Billggski - 2016-09-13 6:30 PM

Yes, unladen weight is an anomaly, left over from the old days.

The unladen weight is the bare vehicle without fittings so most moho's will be OK, and all on the Fiat light chassis wold be fine.

So fourdogsontour needs to check their licence for C1 entitlement , pre 1997 test.

So, based on the above and taking the regulations to the extreme - my A Class MH arrived at the converter with a bare cab and ALCO chassis which probably weighed 2500Kg max.