lpg - which one?

john le quesne

We have just bought our 1st motorhome - a pioneer Magellan 2005. It came with no gas bottles and now that I have retired, I am keen to try and set up a system which will allow a couple of months travel abroad on a regular basis, with minimum hassle re the gas situation. After years of drifting around the French coast in old boats we converted our little cooker to Camping Gaz as it was always so available even in the more remote areas. However the fittings on the van are for 2x 6kg propane bottles with a truma regulator. Is propane easy to find in Europe, or should I change the fittings to camping Gaz? I think that the appliances will work off either butane or propane. I would welcome any advice! john

It's not cheap and I'm a bit of a newbie myself but I've decided on a Gaslow refillable bottles system. I too have two 6kg cylinders and when one shows empty (there's a guage that tells you) I shall fill up at one of the many petrol stations and gas suppliers which sell LPG gas. When you fill up it automatically fills up both cylinders to 80% of their volume - this is some kind of safety feature it seems.

You use I believe, a propane/butane mixture and it's the same pump for filling up the growing number of cars and vans that run on LPG. In my neck of the woods there are many suppliers including the nearest petrol station, which is one mile away.

Advantages - no more lugging heavy cylinders and worrying about different systems and cylinder replacement when abroad. Much cheaper gas!

Disadvantages - only one that I can think of, the initial cost, which may be about £350.

Finally, I shall always carry a length of tubing with a Camping Gaz regulator attached so that in the very unlike event of not being able to find LPG, I can always buy a Gaz cylinder, but from what I've read I doubt that I'll ever need to call on it.