Don't fall over in France!!

hallii

We are just back from France, whilst there we found ourselves at the Aire in Bedarieux, a pleasant enough place. We were walking along the riverside towards the local Lidl on the 22nd April when a lady who was walking towards us fell onto the tarmac taking the full brunt of the fall on her face. There was a sickening crunch and plenty of blood. We went to help and I found that she was unresponsive and took about 30 seconds to “come round”. I have some experience of dealing with various accident injuries and I was (am) first aid trained.

After assessing her injuries we assisted her to a nearby bench. She had broken her nose, it was a very bad break and because of this the bleeding was difficult to control, anyone who has experience will know half a pint of blood goes a long way! There was blood everywhere. She also had a haemtoma of considerable size over her left eye, I suspect the possibility of a fracture around the eye socket.

This lady was of frail build and somewhere in her eighties, she was in shock and of course in some pain.

With the help of a local Frenchman who spoke some English a call was made to SAMU, as some of you know, SAMU is the French emergency service for injury or illness.

The operator refused to send anyone out. Insisting that someone should take her to the clinic. I would happily have done this but I didn’t have a car, the elderly Frenchman did not drive. By this time three students on bikes had arrived, they phoned SAMU again and argued with the operator at length, but she ( the operator ) still refused to send a SAMU response vehicle.

So, using clean hand towels from local residents the blood flow was reduced, and using an address book from her handbag someone identified her daughters phone number. She was phoned and eventually arrived in her car some 45 to 60 minutes after the accident and whisked her off to hospital. I do not know the results of the hospital visit, I wish I did.